Writing a Blog… Why Bother?

This idea has probably come from nowhere for many people who see the posts, but as you can see, I’ve been experimenting with blog writing. So far, it’s been a fun ride. I originally attempted a vlog several months ago, but my charisma (along with natural soft spokeness) make for a rather boring attempt.

One of the main reasons I’ve went in this direction is the subject matter. I do consider myself a media nerd. I watch anime, read books and the occasional movie. However, I’ve learned over the years that not everything I’ve taken an interest in is of interest to the recipient. I have no one to talk about Conan the Barbarian, and occasionally I might find a Lovecraft fan who’s actually read the material (though I have a long way to go before I read it all myself). Sadly, written works have taken a backseat to more accessible media in a Twitter society. This way, I can share the blog posts through social media and if you wish to discuss something, feel free! I need the social interaction anyway.

Another reason is that I need to write more. I’m not interested in being paid for my work, but among the artistic talents, writing seems to be my strongest, and I need an outlet.  I have more control over how I share my stuff with a personal blog than say, DeviantArt. Speaking of outlets, if anyone has ways to put my posts out there, let me know.

Finally, I’d like to thank everyone for the support. It’s a fun ride on its own, but having people who care makes it better.

Leave a Reply

